Non-zabihah Animal Skin

ZamZam Academy Content

Question

Someone asked: The other day Brother X mentioned to me an unsubstantiated report that the vitamin D added to milk comes from animal sources, and that perhaps we should use non-homogenized milk from health stores.

Besides this, when the rulings of meat are discussed in fiqh texts, the skin of the animal is also mentioned along with meat as a consumable. What if the animal was not zabihah?

Answered by: Mufti Abdurrahman ibn Yusuf

Assalaamu Alaikum,

In the Name of the Inspirer of truth.

Since the hair is a part of the animal that the blood does not flow into, it will always be considered pure as long as there is no other impurity attached to it. This same is the ruling for the bones, hooves, skin, etc, of the animal as long as they have been purified in the appropriate ways, and no fat or tissue remains on them from the animal.

And Allah knows best.
Mufti Abdurrahman ibn Yusuf

Written By
More from ZamZam

Muslims & Sin: Heaven & Hell

Question So I’ve Read that a Muslim Can go to hell If...
Read More