The other day a brother mentioned to me an uns
ubstantiated report that the vitamin D added to milk comes from animal sources, and that perhaps we should use non-homogenized milk from health stores (because of lanolin)?
Answered by: Mufti Abdurrahman ibn Yusuf
In the Name of the Inspirer of truth.
Lanonin is pure and halal. Many text on fiqh mention seven parts of an animal to be haram. The wool or skin are not mentioned as part of these.
(Hashiyah Ibn ‘Abidin vol. 6 page. 749]
Besides this, when the rulings of meat are discussed in fiqh texts, the skin of the animal is also mentioned along with meat as a consumable.
And Allah knows best.
Mufti Abdurrahman ibn Yusuf